Matrix

Matrix is a modern, open source software for decentralized communication (like e-mail). Matrix offers end-to-end encryption, voice and video calls and much more. However, the most important thing is that there is not one Matrix server that all users have to use, like WhatsApp, Telegram and many other popular messengers.

Users can choose a public server or create their own and still communicate with all Matrix users, not just those on their own server. The messages are only stored on the participating servers. Calls also go only through the participating servers.

Since the beginning of 2020 I run a public Matrix server: matrix.sp-codes.de And a public Element-Web instance: chat.sp-codes.de

You can read the server rules here (German). Feel free to create an account on my server or choose one from the lists linked below. I look forward to hear from you @samuel-p:matrix.sp-codes.de.

If you want to have your own matrix server for you, your family or your company, I would be happy to support you with my company Ossrox. Please have a look at our services on our website or send me a message.

On my blog (German) you will find an article series for an easy start to Matrix:

Why Matrix?

Here I want to give some reasons why I use Matrix and prefer it over many other messengers:

More useful links

Matrix

Matrix ist eine moderne, quelloffene Software für dezentrale Kommunikation (wie E-Mail). Matrix bietet von Haus aus Sprach- und Videoanrufe, inklusive Ende-zu-Ende Verschlüsselung und vieles mehr. Das Entscheidende ist, dass es nicht den einen Matrix-Server gibt, den alle Nutzer:innen verwenden müssen, wie das beispielsweise bei WhatsApp, Telegram und vielen anderen verbreiteten Messengern der Fall ist.

Da Matrix dezentral funktioniert, können sich die Nutzer:innen einen öffentlichen Server aussuchen oder ihren eigenen erstellen und trotzdem mit allen Matrix-Nutzern:innen kommunizieren, nicht nur mit denen des eigenen Servers. Die verschickten Nachrichten werden so nur auf den beteiligten Servern gespeichert. Auch die Anrufe laufen nur über die beteiligten Server.

Seit Anfang 2020 betreibe ich einen öffentlichen Matrix-Server: matrix.sp-codes.de und eine öffentliche Element-Web Instanz: chat.sp-codes.de

Die Serverregeln kannst du gerne hier nachlesen. Melde dich gerne auf meinem Server an oder suche dir einen aus den unten verlinkten Listen heraus. Ich freue mich auf deine Nachricht an @samuel-p:matrix.sp-codes.de.

Einstieg

Auf meinem Blog findest du eine Artikelserie für einen einfachen Einstieg in Matrix:

Warum Matrix?

Hier möchte ich ein paar Gründe nennen, warum ich Matrix nutze und vielen anderen Messengern vorziehe:

Weitere nützliche Links